Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is post #75 in 100DaysOfBloggingChallenge

pulp

 

This was my first read by Charles Bukowski and the last one he wrote! Charles is famous for his poems! Can’t say I got a hang of his writing style after reading Pulp but I absolutely enjoyed the unique humor sprinkled across the book!

It revolves around Nick Belane, a private detective, trying to get to the bottom of 4 strange cases! Looking for a dead novelist (who, if alive, would be 102 years old!!)), searching for something/someone called Red Sparrow, chasing an alien woman and collecting evidence of infidelity!

Nick ends up in weird situations all the time!  There is not much of a story or character development per se. It’s just bone cracking humour everywhere! Bukowski’s writing was like a breath of fresh air and created humour amidst cynicism and sarcasm! The character of Nick is most hillarious when you expect it the least!  Seems like a deranged character , especially when he talks like this:

“My flesh looked like it wasn’t trying. It looked like it hated being part of me.”

“It wasn’t my day. My week. My month. My year. My life. God damn it.”

“I looked around for a fly to kill”

“Existence was not only absurd, it was plain hard work”
Its a very light book, read it without much expectation!

