Tags

, , , , , , ,

unravel me

Sequel to Scatter Me which I read  immediately after the first one! Did I say I kinda like the first one, I think my review of Scatter Me says that!

As with all the other series, the second one was way less appealing that the prequel! Juliette has escaped Re-Establishment and reached Omega Point. Omega Point (X-Mansion ??) is the house for all the gifted people (mutants??).  Castle  (Xaviers??) is the head and his power is ability to move things (Jean Grey??). And Juliette of course kills people with her touch (Rogue??? ) Too many similarities with X-Men!

Juliette loves Adam, who can touch her but she kills him slowly if she does so. HIs power is basically to neutralise someone elses’s power (can’t recall X-Men character for this, LOL!)  Warner can touch Juliette and loves her as well. Easy-peasy. But Juliette is confused, she likes them both. (Remember Katniss Everdeen from Hunger Games??)Hah! Warner is captured by Omega Point’s  “gifted-ones” and spends some lovely moments with Juliette! The sappy teenage-ish romance continues and the book turned out to be a frustrating Love-triangle. I started liking Kenji’s character (he can become invisible!!) because he neither loved anyone nor was loved by anyone, atleast till the end of this book!

What I liked in Scatter me, viz., the strikethroughs and the metaphors, ceased to exist in the second one. Story-line is nothing novel, I kept on thinking about characters from other books. It’s like you being with a person but thinking about someone else!! What can be worse than this? Juliette did not emerge as a powerful character till the end of second book of the series! And there’s one more I guess!

I read it cos I read the first one and I literally read it super quickly as I skimmed through lot of scenes! Will I read the third one? I think I will, even when the climax of Unravel me is not much of a cliffhanger.  And, the bibliophile in me will keep on imagining things and bring undeserving fate to the characters !

Some Lines from the book:

“Books are easily destroyed. But words will live as long as people can remember them.”

“Time goes on even when we do not.”

“Hope. It’s like a drop of honey, a field of tulips blooming in the springtime. It’s a fresh rain, a whispered promise, a cloudless sky, the perfect punctuation mark at the end of a sentence. And it’s the only thing in the world keeping me afloat.”

“Because it’s so hard to be kind to the world when all you’ve ever felt is hate. Because it’s so hard to see goodness in the world when all you’ve ever known is terror

