Tags

, , , , , , , ,

shatter_me

Shatter Me is Tahereh Mafi’s debutante novel, a teenage romance in a dystopian setting.

If you read few reviews about this, people have disliked and liked it for similar things! Well, everyone is entitled to his/her opinion and so am I!!

It’s narrated by Juliette, a seventeen year old girl who is a social pariah because her touch kills people! OOPS , that was a spoiler!! Anyways, she is imprisoned by “The Re-establishment”.  The antagonist, Warner, wants to use her and her power to freak out people. She meets her childhood buddy Adam there and to her astonishment, she can touch him! Here comes the (sappy) romantic angle!!

This is pretty much it! I won’t write what they did so that I don’t spoil everything for those who still have to read it. And, there are heaps of sequels!!

What did I like about this book??

First thing, the style of writing. So many strike-throughs which appealed me more than what followed next! It’s like that feeling when you actually say something to someone but your mind is speaking something else!  Gosh, I CAN relate to it!

Secondly, the metaphors! Such funny ones, specially the one Juliette uses to describe what she feels for Adam!!

Example??

“There are 400 cotton balls caught in my windpipe”.  She says that when Adam introduces her as his girlfriend!

“I am frozen in five hundred layers of fear”.

There are heaps more. To some people, these appear as contrived and silly but I was fine with them and rather found them amusing, acknowledging that they come from a seventeen year old grief-stricken girl!

Thirdly, it was a quick and easy read. Quite predictable but not boring!

Lastly, the cover of the book, kinda freaky but appealed me 😉

What baffled me??

The only thing I couldn’t understand was how come a girl who is not fed properly for 264 days appeared to be sexy and gorgeous to every male in the novel!!! Probably, because she was the only female character!

Jokes apart, if you liked Hunger Games and X-Men, you might probably like it!

Some Lines from the book:

“I spent my life folded between the pages of books.

In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters. I lived love and loss through stories threaded in history; I experienced adolescence by association. My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction.”

“All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not just with my hands but with my heart.”

“Killing time isn’t as difficult as it sounds.

I can shoot a hundred numbers through the chest and watch them bleed decimal points in the palm of my hand. I can rip the numbers off a clock and watch the hour hand tick tick tick its final tock just before I fall asleep. I can suffocate seconds just by holding my breath. I’ve been murdering minutes for hours and no one seems to mind.”

