Tags

, , , , , ,

birthday

Birthday Stories by Haruki Murakami is a collection of stories by different authors with a theme of birthday! The last one is written by Haruki himself.

The more I read Haruki’s work, the more I appreciate his writing. He is a great author with magic in his ordinary words! I liked most of the stories with an exception of couple of them, but thats not any reason to complain I guess! Don’t want to write about each story here but my favourite one was “Birthday Cake” where an elderly woman buys a cake every week from a bakery. She refuses to give her cake to someone else one week whose daughter’s birthday party is going to be spoilt without the cake! And the reason is that she hasn’t seen her grandchildren since very long and expects them to come and visit her some day! It really was a touching story!

The lost story penned down by Haruki is another good one where a young girl is asked to make a wish on her 20th birthday! And I loved this quote:

“No matter what they wish for, no matter how far they go, people can never be anything but themselves”

I have always picked his books randomly from library and this one ended up being issued because my birthday was approaching soon! And I don’t regret it at all! Maybe, I’ll have some birthday story someday!

