, , , , , , , , ,


I have been reading a variety of books, hence I chose this one. And completing this in few hours just brought me a  bit closer to my ’52 books in 2015′ target!! So, I’ll rather have a quick review as well.

It’s all about how to keep that spark alive in a marriage. Grag Chapman describes five languages of love,

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Quality Time
  3. Gifts
  4. Act of Service
  5. Physical Touch.

He believes each individual to have one primary language of love. One needs to identify his/her own language as well the partner’s. One needs to speak the partner’s love language to make him/her feel loved, appreciated and valued. You need to show love such that it is received by your partner. That’s all this book talks about.

Author talks about all these languages in detail with examples. He tells you how to talk and interpret these languages. He talks about the emotional tank we all have and which is filled by the partner’s words, actions and gestures of love and appreciation. Its written very simplistically and worth a quick read. Author claims the languages have worked like magic for some couples! Even if you are not seeking relationship advice, you might takeaway a thing or two from this book.

Few Lines:

“Mark Twain once said, “I can live for two months on a good compliment.”

“We even fall in love with love.”

“I am amazed by how many individuals mess up every new day with yesterday.”

“What we do for each other before marriage is no indication of what we will do after marriage.”

“Love doesn’t keep a score of wrongs. Love doesn’t bring up past failures. None of us is perfect. In marriage we do not always do the right thing. We have sometimes done and said hurtful things to our spouses. We cannot erase the past. We can only confess it and agree that it was wrong. We can ask for forgiveness and try to act differently in the future. Having confessed my failure and asked forgiveness, I can do nothing more to mitigate the hurt it may have caused my spouse. When I have been wronged by my spouse and she has painfully confessed it and requested forgiveness, I have the option of justice or forgiveness. If I choose justice and seek to pay her back or make her pay for her wrongdoing, I am making myself the judge and her the felon. Intimacy becomes impossible. If, however, I choose to forgive, intimacy can be restored. Forgiveness is the way of love.”

“Something in our nature cries out to be loved by another. Isolation is devastating to the human psyche. That is why solitary confinement is considered the cruelest of punishments.”

“The person who is “in-love” has the ilusion that his beloved is perfect.”

“The best thing we can do with the failures of the past is to let them be history.”

“Verbal compliments, or words of appreciation, are powerful communicators of love.”

“We are influenced by our personality but not controlled by it.”

“love is always a choice.”