Tags

, , , , ,

gone_girl

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is an effing thrilling entertainer, both in writing and its content! With it’s witty writing and a truly vicious sociopath protagonist, it turned out to be a page turner for me!

Most of the times, we like things which are likable, but its astounding when we get immersed in evil characters like Amy Elliot Dunne!! Amy Elliot is portrayed as a weird character from the very beginning and her weirdness just grows! She pretends to be “Amazing Amy” (you get to know this through her diary entries!!) and Nick Dunne falls for her and she becomes Amy Dunne.

She is (rather pretends!!) kind of perfect dream girl every man would want for a wife.. cool, hot, funny, never-demanding. She is manipulative and she knows she IS! She likes to have her own way and if she doesn’t, she uses her dark mind to punish people! And she thinks “thats the way to do it”!  Her marriage with Nick is like any other average marriage.. bumpy..so-called-felt lack of passion or love after 5 years and blah blah blah! She organises treasure hunts for her wedding anniversary each year and goes missing on the fifth one, What a timing!!

The book is narrated , in turns, by Nick and Amy ! I had such conflicted and varying emotions for these characters throughout but finally I settled with dislike for Amy and nothing but pure sympathy for “poor” Nick!!

When Amy frames Nick for her murder and disappears when she finds out about his infidelity, I felt she was doing the right thing! But then, she had always been pretending to be someone she was not and I was not sure whether her actions were completely justifiable. Whatever be the reason, she was amazingly ruthless in executing her meticulous plan to frame Nick. I assumed she would , at some time, stop when Nick realises  his mistake. But she turned out to be callous and cold-blooded when it came to get things done her way with people(Yes, she has done some nasty things to people who upset her since childhood) . And she enjoys it!

With numerous twists & turns in the story, Amy went beyond my imagination in her dark ways! I had goosebumps throughout while I was reading the second half, always surprised by the “Avengful Amy” . She turns out to be such a warped devilish character.  I could not help feeling bad for poor Nick for all awful things she did to him, just for having an affair with another woman (I am surprised I am writing this, maybe only because Amy was a real bitch!!). And the darkness prevails even in the climax, which was kind of unexpected atleast by my little mind. After a certain point, I just wanted it to end as I could not take any more of it.. neither Amy’s spitefulness nor Nicks helplessness! But could not keep it down! It was just so gripping! Can’t specify exactly, but it’ a recommended read!

Some lines from the book:

“There’s something disturbing about recalling a warm memory and feeling utterly cold.”

“Love makes you want to be a better man. But maybe love, real love, also gives you permission to just be the man you are.”

“There’s a difference between really loving someone and loving the idea of her.”

“Friends see most of each other’s flaws. Spouses see every awful last bit.”

“My mother had always told her kids: if you’re about to do something, and you want to know if it’s a bad idea, imagine seeing it printed in the paper for all the world to see.”

“It’s humbling, to become the very thing you once mocked.”

“Because isn’t that the point of every relationship: to be known by someone else, to be understood? He gets me. She gets me. Isn’t that the simple magic phrase?”

“We weren’t ourselves when we fell in love, and when we became ourselves – surprise! – we were poison. We complete each other in the nastiest, ugliest possible way.”

“You are a man. You are an average, lazy, boring, cowardly, woman-fearing man. Without me, that’s what you would have kept on being, ad nauseam. But I made you into something. You were the best man you’ve ever been with me. And you know it. The only time in your life you’ve ever liked yourself was pretending to be someone I might like.

“It really is true. It took this awful situation for us to realize it. Nick and I fit together. I am a little too much, and he is a little too little. I am a thornbush, bristling from the overattention of my parents, and he is a man of a million little fatherly stab wounds, and my thorns fit perfectly into them.

