Tags

, , , ,

It happens sometimes that when you see/read something and think “What the Hell???”. That’s exactly what came to my mind when I was done reading it.  I chose to read this one because of two reasons: firstly, I wanted to read the novel before watching the movie (which I am not sure of now!!) and secondly, because I found the title catchy. 

The Perks of being a Wallflower, an epistolary book, revolves around three teenagers: Charlie, Sam and Patrick. Charlie, the protagonist, writes a series of letters to an unknown friend and shares his life, his frustrations, joys and sorrows, teenage experiences through words with the unknown friend. 

Book is written in very plain, straightforward language. Charlie has some mental problems and is an unnoticed and ‘non-participating’ teenager. In his own words, he mostly feels sad and sometimes “infinite”. At some places, he shows lot of maturity and at the same time he is too naive as well. 

Though it was a best-seller and appreciated & praised by many, something in it just din’t click for me. I was put off couple of times simply because it was too boring at times, without any story line and plot (that’s what I look forward to when I read).

Still, there are few lines from Charlie’s last letter which I re-read quite some times:

“So, I guess  we are who we are for lot of reasons. and maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.

I think that if I ever have kids, and they are upset, I won’t tell them that people are starving in China or anything like that because it wouldn’t change the fact that they were upset. And if somebody else has it much worse, that doesn’t really change the fact that you have what you have. Good and bad.”

I don’t regret reading it, but I felt it was a bit overrated.

